Easy Readers

Now, I’m not a fan of easy readers, beginning readers, whatever you call them. All too often the text doesn’t make any sense, nor does it match the images, a big no-no in helping beginning readers. So, when I got a couple of advance copies of some new easy readers I wasn’t too thrilled. But I took a closer look and what’s this? Easy readers by Mo Willems!


These books are fantastic! No less than you would expect from the author/illustrator of the pigeon books and Knuffle Bunny and Leonardo the Terrible Monster (all on my favorites list). The text and the pictures work in harmony. The repetitive text which I find annoying in other easy readers works here (perhaps because the illustrations are so good). I wish there was more to say about the wonderfulness of these books. Oh wait, there is. The endpapers. As I don’t have copies sitting in front of me as I type the fine details are lost, but trust me, these are good books.

I will most definitely be giving these to the youngest niece who will be starting kindergarten this fall.

2 thoughts on “Easy Readers

  1. Thanks for the heads up. I can’t wait to have the child read them. We love love love Mo Willems!

    Do you know when they’re being published?

    J. Sue

  2. It’s looks like they’re both available now, though I could only find My Friend is Sad on Amazon.

Leave a comment