Where the Wild Things Are Program

I never know how many kids are going to show up on any given day.  This morning it was raining heavily which means there’s always a threat of flooding and people just don’t leave the house if they don’t have to.  Plus it is truly fall and all the summer people have gone home.

So I was happy to have a pair of three-year olds and an 18 month old (plus two moms and a set of grandparents at my Where the Wild Things Are program) even if they were very quiet three-year olds.

What I Did (roughly in this order):

“Open, Shut Them”

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
Admittedly, I wouldn’t normally include this book for this age audience, but since that was the premise for the whole thing . . .

Go Away Big Green Monster by Ed Emberley
I love using this book with almost any age kids careening from silly to scary depending on the age of the audience.  As the little girl’s eyes got bigger I had to make it sillier and sillier.  She actually joined in, telling the monster to “Go away!”.

“Two Little Blackbirds”
One of my standards to grab attention.

“If You’re Happy and You Know it”
A get up a move song that usually works.

Witch’s House cut and tell
If you’re not familiar with this one, it is about a little witch who makes a house for herself and a little ghost out of an orange piece of paper.  The twist being that she’s really cut a pumpkin.  Shhh!  They particularly loved the pumpkin.

Ghosts in the House by Kazuno Kohara
When this book arrived at the library I immediately put it in my storyingtelling collection.  It is one of those “holiday” books I’ll try and make an excuse to read anytime.

activity: make Max crowns
The original idea was to have the kids make crowns and/or terrible claws and parade around the library.  The kids were so reserved that we ended up just making the crowns.  The kids took marker to precut paper and then I fitted them to their heads. It was fun to watch the eighteen month old scribble and try and wipe the marks away.  His markers were quickly replaced with my piggie puppet that he could chew on.

Spooky Spooky Spooky by Cathy MacLennan
I don’t love this book as much as her Chicky Chicky Chook Chook, but to be honest that would be near impossible. I love that there’s a jack-o-cucumber and jack-o-eggplant and a number of other nontraditional jack-o-lanterns.

As I do almost every October, I forgot to include the audience favorite Chocolate Chip Ghost flannel board, but I use that often enough when doing color stories that I don’t feel bad about the missed opportunity.

Leave a Reply

