What I’m Reading and What I Want to Be Reading

I have three stacks of “have to be read” books.  A mock Newbery list, a mock Printz list and the state award list.  One of the things I’m finding interesting about this is paying attention to the varying criteria as I read. (Thank goodness we’re not tackling a mock Caldecott again this year.)

Our mock Newbery list is long!

The Prince of Fenway Park by Julianna Baggot
All the Broken Pieces by Ann Burg
The Girl Who Threw Butterflies by Mick Cochrane
The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo
The Problem with the Puddles by Kate Feiffer
The Dream Stealer by Dis Fleishman (Pictures by Peter Sis)
Brooklyn Nine: a Novel in Nine Innings by Alan Gatz
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
Neil Armstrong is my Uncle and Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me by Nan Marino
The Day of the Pelican by Katherine Paterson
A Season of Gifts by Richard Peck
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead [By the end of June I’d already been wanting to blog about this book for ages – trust me there’s a draft – and now it is mid December and I still haven’t. I hope I will have time to reread it before our discussion.]

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Tate
The Great and Only Barnum by Candice Fleming
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose (J Biography – National Book Award Finalist)
Traveling the Freedom Road by Linda Barrett Osborne
Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone

For the mock Printz:

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson [this will be interesting as some of us have already had a contentious discussion of this title]
Going Bovine by Libba Bray
The Devil’s Paintbox by Victoria Mckernan
SLOB by Ellen Potter
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork
When you Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
Everything is Fine by Ann Dee Ellis
Flygirl by Sherri Smith
All the Broken Pieces by Ann E. Burg

I will not share my reading list for the state award.  Of course there are any number of other books waiting to be read:  the most recent Wheel of Time entry, Her Fearful Symmetry, Under the Dome, Splendour . . . My hope is to type up something as I visit or revisit these mock award books.

Leave a Reply

